Acro Champions League Preview


The city of Maia will hold another high level acrobatic gymnastics competition organised by Acro Clube da Maia, the Acro Champions League. The competition format is quite distinctive in acro world though and so is the prize money involved, 4000€ for the winning club (650€ in the youth league).

Clubs from five countries (Great Britain, Belgium, Spain, Portugal and Russia) are bringing their best 2 or 3 partnerships to compete and reach the title of best acro club in the world.
How does it work then? The clubs will be ranked by the sum of their top 4 scores (2 balance + 2 dynamic), also interesting to note that partnerships of different age categories and specialities will compose each team and compete against others of mixed composition as well, thus blurring the lines that are so defined in any other competition.

The home club brings three new partnerships to the competition floor, all composed of heavily medalled acrobats including Bárbara Sequeira (remember her from 2013 Europeans?). Check below to see who else is coming to Maia and vote for who you think will win.

Competing teams overview:

King Edmund (GBR)

Dove Wills & Nyree Williams; Dylan Howell & Lola Sady; Finlay Cochrane & Kirsten Owen
Ambitious Pro Gymnastics (BEL)

Saartje Vanderjeugd & Sara ten Broek; Janne Lepage, Fee Huysmans & Tuur Verlent; Lindsey Wittische & Jana Brabants

OTM Gent (BEL)

Malou Willemot & Pauline Calus; Wannes Ost & Ibe De Pauw; Laure De Raeve, Emma Naudts & Yana Degroote

Volharding Boom (BEL)

Nathan Van Den Branden & Janne Somers; Seppe Beyens & Margot Bogaerts; Morgan Hermans, Nyah Blockx & Kato Vervliet

Dinamic (ESP)

Guillem Martinez & Silvia Coronado; Javier Martinez & Jorge Navarro; Erik Lundqvist & Roberto Blasco

Gimnofrielas (POR)

Bruno Ramalho & Fábio Beco; Diogo Ramos & Lara Silva; Madalena Mesquita, Sofia Pereira & Camila Gonçalves

Acro Clube da Maia (POR)

Beatriz Carneiro & Bruna Gonçalves; Francisca Maia, Bárbara Sequeira, Francisca Sampaio; Rita Ferreira & Rita Teixeira

Rafkis Saint Petersburg (RUS)

Pawel Saenko & Anastasia Zubareva, Sofia Yaroshenko & Alina Yurova, Daria Bersenieva & Elizaveta Karmanova

(if you don’t see a voting poll below, please refresh your browser)

Isabel Silva